# Graduate Council Minutes May 5, 2009

#### 2008-2009 Council Present:

Lawrence Anderson, Jamie Barlowe, Barbaranne Benjamin, Jeanne Brockmyer, Frank Calzonetti, Dwayne Demedio, Laurie Dinnebeil, Max Funk, Hans Gottgens, Scott Heckathorn, Mohamed Hefzy, Ruth Hottell, Dong-Shik Kim, Patricia Komuniecki, Sakui Malakpa, Barbara Kopp Miller, Anand Kunnathur, Sara Lundquist, Gary Moore, Azadeh Parvin, Kelly Phillips, Susan Pocotte, Benjamin Pryor, Randall Ruch, Dorothea Sawicki, Dianne Smolen, Mark Templin, Ram Rachamadugu, Amy Thompson, Hermann Von Grafenstein, Frederick Williams

#### 2008-2009 Absent:

John Gaboury, Kathleen Salyers, Alice Skeens, Krishna Shenai, James Trempe

2009-2010 New Council Members Present:

Wendy Cochrane, Brian Fink, Michael Dowd, Richard Komuniecki, Constantine Theodosiou, Thihal Ponnaiyan (GSA)

2009-2010 Absent: Joseph Margiotta

Excused Absent: Michael Bisesi, Wayne Hoss, Mylo Jennings, Eric Longsdorf, Sheryl Milz, Patricia Relue, Barbara Schneider

#### Call to Order and Roll

# Report of the Executive Committee of the Graduate Council and the Vice Provost for Graduate Affairs and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies

Dr. Komuniecki welcomed new Graduate Council members and thanked continuing members for their contributions and input that have helped her these past few months in her new role in the College of Graduate Studies. She thanked all graduate faculty who served on the standing committees of Graduate Council. She acknowledged the strong leadership of Dr. Max Funk, who served as chair of the Academic Standing Committee this past academic year.

Vice Chair Dr. Max Funk read a resolution in recognition of the excellent leadership by Dr. Patricia Relue, outgoing Chair of the 2008-2009 Graduate Council. She could not attend today's meeting since she was attending a conference in San Francisco.

#### **RESOLUTION:**

The University of Toledo Graduate Council recognizes Dr. Patricia Relue with deep appreciation for being a tireless advocate for graduate studies, and for serving forcefully and effectively as the Chair of the Graduate Council for Academic Year 2008-2009.

Dr. Komuniecki reported the Graduate Council was quite busy this past semester. The Council passed revised Bylaws of the Graduate Council established guidelines for dissertations and theses, established a set of academic standards for graduate students, and dealt with important issues in standings committee and membership of which there were a large number of applications this year. These procedures are a great benefit to graduate students and programs. Graduate education needs to be well cared for at this institution.

Dr. Komuniecki stated that today's meeting will include election of leadership for the 2009-2010 Graduate Council.

## Commencement - May 10, 2009

She reminded Council of Commencement exercises on May 10, 2009 and thanked those who agreed to serve as marshals and readers:

Morning Ceremony 9:30 a.m.

Colleges of: Arts and Sciences, Health Science and Human Service, Nursing

Reader – Dr. Lawrence Anderson

Marshals - Drs. Ruth Hottell and Dr. Amy Thompson

Afternoon Ceremony 2:00 p.m.

Colleges of: Business Administration, Engineering, University College Degree Programs

Reader – Dr. Donald Stierman

Marshals – Drs. Mark Templin and Berhane Teclehaimanot

## College of Graduate Studies Annual Fellowships and Scholarship Awards

Dr. Komuniecki was pleased to announce the results of annual fellowship and scholarship awards administered by the College of Graduate Studies. She also thanked the Fellowships and Scholarships Committee for their efforts in selecting the following graduate students as this year's recipients of these awards:

- Robert R. Buell Memorial Achievement Award: a certificate of recognition and award check in the amount of \$1,000, will be presented to Ms. Christine Knaggs of the Judith Herb College of Education.
- Helen M. Fields Memorial Achievement Award: a certificate of recognition and award check in the amount of \$600 will be presented to Ms. Senetta Swinea of the Judith Herb College of Education.
- Robert N. Whiteford Memorial Scholarship: a certificate of recognition and an award check in the amount of \$325 will be presented to two graduate students, Ms. Prachi Kene of the College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Psychology and Mr. James Seelye of the College of Arts and Sciences, Department of History.
- University Fellowships (2): Remission of Tuition and Fees accompanied by a departmental level stipend
  will be awarded to two doctoral students beginning fall semester 2009 for a period of three years.
   Mr. Adam Keith of the College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Chemistry and Mr. Tesfaye
  Mohammed of the College of Engineering, Department of Civil Engineering.

## Budget Update

Dr. Komuniecki reported that none of the deans have received their budget allocations yet due to the protracted budget process. She asked for increased stipends and for new lines which had been static. She also added that new program resources are needed. Dr. Komuniecki hopes to receive a flat budget. There is a transitional plan on the Health Science Campus for Dr. Bisesi's departure. The College of Medicine is arranging a farewell gathering for him to be held late June. She has asked for a successor to fill the HSC position as 0.5 FTE (up from the current 0.33 FTE). There also was a request for an Associate Dean on the Main Campus, but that will likely await a different budget climate.

# Information and Discussion Items

# Election of Officers to Council for the 2009-2010 Academic Year

Chair Dr. Susan Pocotte CON
Vice Chair Dr. Mark Templin JHCOE
At Large #1 Dr. Azadeh Parvin COE
At Large #2 Dr. Mohamed Hefzy COE
At Large #3 Dr. Michael Dowd CAS

## Election of Representatives to Research Council

Dr. Frank Calzonetti summarized some of the work of the Research Council which includes URAF grants and research activity issues policy, research misconduct, cataloging centers and research institutes, benchmark standards, comprehensive inventory of all centers and institutes with three-year cycle reviews. Graduate Council has four representatives across disciplines with staggered terms. Currently, from Graduate Council, Daryl Moorhead and Joel Lipman are continuing members but Drs. Maria Coleman and Jerzy Kamburowski are ending their terms, thus two positions are open.

Elected to Research Council: Drs. Thea Sawicki and Mohamed Hefzy.

## Standing Committee Reports

## **Report of the Membership Committee**

Dr. Mohamed Hefzy, chair, reported the Membership Committee reviewed 53 applications with membership applied for: 34 Full, 4 Associate I, 6 Adjunct, 9 Special. Membership for committee service is verified on the Grad Advisory form.

## **Report of the Curriculum Committee**

Dr. Lawrence Anderson, chair, presented the recommendations of the Graduate Curriculum Committee. Council unanimously approved all curricular items.

#### **NEW COURSE PROPOSALS**

EDU	ECPS	SPED:5600	Advanced Professional Reflective Seminar	3
LDC	D	DI LD.5000	Advanced Foressional Reflective Schillar	9

#### **COURSE MODIFICATIONS**

HSS	CESP	COUN:5190	Counseling Practicum	4
HHS	CESP	COUN:7330	Practica in School Psychology	1 - 4
HHS	CESP	SPSY:7490	Internship in School Psychology	1
ARS	PSC	PSC:5530	Civil Rights	3
ARS	PSC	PSC:5550	Contemporary Issues in Law and Politics	3

#### PROGRAM MODIFICATIONS

HHS	ART	EdS School Psychology Program	
HHS	CESP	M.A. in Community Counseling and M.A. in School Counseling	

#### **Organizational Reports**

#### **Report of the Graduate Student Association**

None.

#### Old Business

Dr. Komuniecki thanked Ms. Terri Hayes for her contributions to the Graduate Council and stated her dedication and tireless efforts assist the Council in conducting its activities.

#### New Business

None.

#### Adjournment

There being no further business the Council adjourned at 1:35 p.m.