## The University of Toledo College of Medicine Hosted "From Form to Function," the 23rd Annual Meeting of the Ohio Physiological Society

On the evening of November 6, 2008, fall colors in full splendor on the sprawling Health Science Campus of the Univ. of Toledo ushered the delegates, students and guests to the 23rd annual meeting of the Ohio Physiological Society (OPS) to the Dana Center, the venue of the meeting. The meeting was co-sponsored by the OPS, the American Physiological Society (APS), the Office of the Dean of the College of Medicine, Univ. of Toledo and the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine.

This year's meeting had several interesting features, the first of which was a golf outing on Thursday for all interested meeting attendees. The same evening, the meeting kicked off with a new feature introduced this year, i.e., a panel discussion jointly sponsored by the APS as part of the Physiology Understanding (PhUn) Week program. This event was an extension of the traditional portion of the PhUn week activity, which included a classroom visit to Springfield High School earlier in the week (November 3) by two members of the APS, Eric Morgan and Bina Joe of the Univ. of Toledo. The panel discussion was attended by well over 100 area high school students. The panelists included distinguished members of the OPS, including the founding President, Peter Lauf; a previous OPS president, Norma Adragna from the Wright State Univ.; and the current president, Bina Joe; the two keynote speakers, Joseph



High school students from northwest Ohio in session with the panelists, including Senior Physiologists.

Nadeau from the Case Western Reserve Univ. and Muthu Periasamy from the Ohio State University; Michael Bisesi, the Associate Dean of the Univ. of Toledo College of Graduate Studies, and Jeremy Nixon, a biology advanced program teacher from Springfield High School. The students were engaged in one-on-one discussions on a variety of topics such as, "What are the different branches of physiology?"; "What do physiologists do everyday?"; "What subjects should I study to become a physiologist?"; to questions on science fiction such as, "Is it possible to create a Hulklike creature?" It was obvious both during and after this session that the panelists and the youngsters enjoyed the deliberations, the essence of which reverberated in positive comments from faculty and students alike.

The second interesting feature of this meeting was that the theme of the meeting, "From Form to Function," gave us the opportunity to unite the two themes of "nature" and "nurture" as highlighted by the two keynote lectures delivered by a geneticist, Joseph Nadeau, and a physiologist, Muthu Periasamy, both of whom are distinguished scientists from the state of Ohio. Following a formal welcome address by Michael Bisesi, Joseph Nadeau presented the keynote lecture, "Genetic and Systems Studies of Metabolic Diseases." This was followed by a dinner reception at the Hilton where all the delegates had a chance to intermingle and exchange pleasantries.

The second day of the meeting commenced with a special lecture by Gale Davy, the Director of Outreach and Advocacy, Americans for Medical Progress. This lecture on "Public Policy-The Critical Role of Scientists," was well-received by young investigators, who were later seen conversing with the speaker and exchanging information to sign up for this important cause. This was followed by an open poster session where students and faculty alike actively discussed their mutual research interests.

The third interesting feature of this meeting was that it was a student-centered meeting, which meant that oral presentations were exclusively from students. The first of the two oral presentation sessions was moderated by a graduate student from the Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine, Damien Earl. The speakers for this session were Ying Xu from the Ohio State Univ., Ameet Chimote from the Wright State Univ., Edward Toland from the Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine and



Active discussions between researchers from different institutions for biomedical research from all over Ohio.

## **Chapter News**

Patrick Mineo from the Miami Univ. Following lunch, the second session continued with presentations by Patricia Shamhart from the North Eastern Ohio Univ. College of Medicine, Kaylan Haizlip from the Ohio State Univ. and Gargi Roy from the Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine. This session was moderated by Guillermo Vasquez of the Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine. The concluding keynote lecture entitled, "Cardiac SR Ca2+ATPase and its role in Heart Disease," was delivered by Muthu Periasamy.

Three awards were presented at this meeting: an early-bird registrant raffle

award, which was won by Alissa D. Delong of the Univ. of Toledo, and two Lauf awards. The latter are travel awards to students supporting attendance at the Experimental Biology Meeting of 2009. This year's award for best oral presentation was won by Patricia Shamhart from the North Eastern Ohio University College of Medicine. Kaylan Haizlip and Ying Xu from the Ohio State Univ. were the runners-up. The Lauf award for best poster presentation went to Michelle Monasky from the Ohio State Univ. Christopher Dearth from the Univ. of Toledo was the runner-up.

The scientific sessions of the meeting, which were attended by more than 90 registered participants, were concluded with appreciative remarks by Peter Lauf. The charge for the 24th annual meeting of the OPS was ceremoniously handed over by the presentation of the new OPS banner with the new OPS logo to the next OPS president-elect, Paul Janssen, from the Ohio State Univ.

(Pictures Courtesy: Andrew Beavis and Jack Meade, Univ. of Toledo College of Medicine). ❖

Bina Joe OPS President 2008



Kaylan Haizlip from the Ohio State University giving her first oral research presentation.



Michelle Monasky from the Ohio State University receiving the best poster award from Peter Lauf.

## Membership

## **New Regular Members**

\*Transferred from Student Membership

Wissam Ali Abou Alaiwi Univ. of Toledo, OH

Kyan James Allahdadi\*

Medical College of Georgia **Kenton Paul Arkill** 

Univ. of Exeter, UK

James R. Austgen\*

Univ. of Missouri. Columbia

Jan Ernestovitch Azarov

Inst. of Phys., Komi Sci. Ctr., Russia

Olga Baker\*

Univ. of Missouri, Columbia

Umberto Banderali

Univ. of Calgary, Canada

Pierre Blier

Univ. of Quebec, Rimouski, Canada

**Martin Dene Brand** 

Buck Inst. Age Research, Novato, CA

Ian Nathaniel Bratz

NEOUCOM, Rootstown, OH

Robert Joseph Brosnan\*

Univ. of California, Davis

Marcelo A. Catalan\*

Univ. of Rochester Med. Ctr., NY

Siu Lung Chan

Univ. of Iowa

Fangping Chen

West Virginia Univ.

Eunhee Chung

Univ. of Colorado, Boulder

Dennis R. Claflin

Univ. of Michigan

Leslie Ann Consitt

East Carolina Univ., NC

Georgina Cope

Univ. College Cork, Ireland

Rebecca Lynn Cunningham\*

Univ. of Texas HSC, San Antonio

Shekhar Hari Deo\*

Univ. of Missouri, Columbia

Kelly Ann Dougherty\*

Childrens Hosp., Philadelphia, PA

Sean Eoin Egan

Hosp. for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada

**Thomas Michael Egan** 

Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Carie S. Facemire\*

Duke Univ. Med. Ctr., NC

Xian Fan

VA Med. Ctr., Emory Univ., GA

Heinz Fehrenbach

Research Ctr., Borstel, Germany

**Brad Geddes** 

Elixir Pharm. Inc., Cambridge, MA

Morteza Gharib

California Inst. of Tech., Pasadena

Mallikarjuna R. Guruju

Weill Cornell Med. Coll., New York

Todd Alan Hagobian\*

Univ. of Massachusetts, Amherst